Denise Abdul-Rahman BS, MBA, HCM, HIS

Dr. Espanola Jackson Energy Justice Award Selection Committee Member

Abdul-Rahman is the Founder and Chief Equity Officer of Black Sun Light Sustainability (BSLS) .


Prior to (BSLS) Abdul-Rahman was an Energy Fellow at the National NAACP where she led the development of Equitable Solar Policy Principles.

She leads policy, education and practice on environmental and climate justice issues.

Her leadership in the State of Indiana, has received funding from numerous foundations and is a sub recipient of Indiana coalition Solar For All. Abdul-Rahman organized 18 predominantly Black, people of color and Disadvantaged organizations to form Solar Equity For All.

She has deployed equitable clean energy projects; and demonstration projects to PowerUp Clean Energy Jobs, Minority Business Contracts and infuse the Black Green Pipeline initiative.

Abdul-Rahman enabled support for East Chicago, such as securing water filtration, fruits and vegetables, lead testing kits and the initiation of “Our Youth/Community Scientists ” initiative and a report entitled “East Chicago Toxic Crisis” based on the residents of East Chicago inundated with 91,000 ppb of lead contamination in 2016.

She is leading the Indiana Alliance for Equity, Diversity Inclusion for Electric Vehicle Infrastructure & Economic Opportunities. The Alliance has developed a 6 point plan that is referenced and utilized across the nation.

Abdul-Rahman advocacy was featured in the LA Times, Bloomberg News , The Guardian , Indianapolis Business Journal. A few recognitions to note are the Indiana University (IU) Robert McKinney School of Law Environmental Protection Award , IU Neal-Marshall Alumni Exemplar Award, the Breckenridge Award which is the highest award of the Indiana State Conference of the NAACP and Vote Solar Dr. Espanola Jackson Award.

JOIN THE MOVEMENT Sign up for updates from Vote Solar on solar progress and energy justice across the U.S.