Dr. Espanola Jackson Energy Justice Award - Vote Solar

Energy Justice Award

Voting Open!

Vote Solar is proud to honor outstanding energy justice heroes with the Dr. Espanola Jackson Energy Justice Award (formerly the Solar Justice Award). The award celebrates the legacy of a tireless community and environmental justice leader, Dr. Espanola Jackson, by recognizing individuals of color who are:

  • Long-time leaders in their communities (may be located anywhere in the U.S.)
  • Dedicated to improving health and well-being in their community through clean energy
  • Strong coalition builders– able to mobilize support both within and around their community 
  • Working at the intersection of racial justice & clean energy access 
  • Working both to stop the extractive polluting energy economy and bring health, jobs, and savings to their community via clean energy opportunities  
  • Influencing the state or local energy policy agenda through direct grassroots advocacy

These award recipients serve as a model of environmental justice leadership and inspire us all to work toward a just clean energy transition. In giving this award, Vote Solar aims to honor the critically important role of community-based activism by people of color in driving environmental progress and to increase visibility for the remarkable work of individual leaders.

The awardee will:

  • Be featured in a short film to highlight their story, work, and accomplishments; 
  • Receive $10,000 to the awardee’s organization from Vote Solar
  • Have the option to receive up to 10 hours of support from Vote Solar’s philanthropy team to build their fundraising capacity and connections

Nomination for the 2022 Dr. Espanola Jackson Energy Justice Award will were open from August 17th thru September 21st, 2022 but are now closed. We will be announcing the top three for public voting in October.

Vote Now on the Energy Justice Award Top 3 Nominees

  • Yesenia Rivera
  • Charles Callaway
  • Kristel Porter

Honorable Mentions

  • Shimekia Y. Nichols
  • Mari Rose
  • Masavi Parea
  • Johana Vicente
  • Ean Thomas Tafoya
  • Nicole Horseherder
  • Arturo Massol Deyá

2022 Award Process Timeline:

  • August 17: Nominations Open
  • September 21: Nominations Close
  • September to October: Nominees spotlighted on our platforms
  • Mid-November: Winner Announced
  • Late-November: Video of Awardee

Learn more about the life and legacy of Dr. Espanola Jackson:

WATCH the virtual event held Wed. July 14, 2021, where we celebrated Joseph Franklin Hernandez, the 2021 Solar Justice Award Honoree.

2021 Honoree & Nominees

Dr. Espanola Jackson Solar Justice Award: Recent Winners

Dr. Espanola Jackson with Eddie Ahn, Executive Director, Brightline Defense Project

Learn more about the life and legacy of Dr. Espanola Jackson, a champion for solar access for low and moderate income families.

Pictured: Dr. Espanola Jackson with Eddie Ahn, Executive Director, Brightline Defense Project.

JOIN THE MOVEMENT Sign up for updates from Vote Solar on solar progress and energy justice across the U.S.